07
Mar
09

Killzone 2 Impressions

killzone2_logo_psd_jpgcopy

While I haven’t gotten entirely into this game yet, I’ll give out my initial impressions right now and will elaborate more when I complete the game (which will take a while because I’m freaking busy.) Having a few minor problems is not going to stop this game for being the MEGA hit it deserves.

For starters, this game is a treat for the eye. The visuals are without a doubt, the best I have ever seen on a console game. I though gears 2 looked great, Killzone looks miles better from the facial expressions to the many explosions you see throughout the game. Now, like I said, I haven’t played much of this game, but have sunk around 3 hours into the multiplayer. I haven’t seen much depth into the environments, just wreckage everywhere. The multiplayer maps look stunning but haven’t seen much variety in the different maps (I think there are 8 to start with).

One complaint I had about the game so far happens to be very nit picky on my part which is the controls. I have grown accustomed to the controls introduced in COD and Halo and don’t want to stray too far from those schemes; thats why I’m sad to report that Killzone’s control setup isn’t exactly what I would want, but I can get used to it. The closest I seen to the others out there is the Alternate 2 setup. If only they would have included custom button mapping, then I wouldn’t have a problem, but I’m forced to choose one of the setup’s included in the game. Like I said though, I think it’s something I can get used to. I just hated having to click the R3 to zoom in. I also thought going from the hip to looking down your sights take a little too long, but hell that’s me being hard on it.

killzone21

While I’m looking forward to the single player seeing where they take me on Helghan, the multiplayer is where I’ll be spending many nights on. Not offering anything new in terms of match types is kind of a bummer, but streaming them together is the best part about multi-player. Being able to jump from body count(death match) to Search and Destroy without hopping back into a room and waiting on everybody is the best Idea they have came up with. For example: I’m playing Body Count, my team wins, then a new objective would automatically pop up like “defend this post for some amount of time.” Of course, you can turn that off, but having that option is pretty cool. Oh and at first I thought the helghast were at a disadvantage because their red glowing eyes are easy to pick out, but then when I was the helghast you can see the glowing blue on the human army so it’s pretty even; although the helghast weapon is better than the humans first weapon. I can’t wait to start playing around with the “perks” (haha) and seeing all the customizations I can do with my gun

shotps3_0198

I’m really looking forward to playing more of it and hope they continue to support it with new maps and game types. Everyone should give this game a chance, even if you don’t like first person shooters, the visuals alone could bring you into the game itself.

Please help out Sony, they need it direly. Oh and if you already have one, buy a freaking mic please. I wanna talk with ya

-Mau

0 Responses to “Killzone 2 Impressions”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories


